The projects tool

We understand that you have many projects to manage, ranging from your own personal ones to business-wide initiatives and it can be challenging to keep track of all these project statuses and requirements simultaneously. Therefore, as a Fiverr Pro account member, the projects tool allows you to create different types of projects tailored to your professional needs as well as the option to add other members to your projects for team collaboration between your members and for order management purposes.

If you are new to Fiverr Pro or only have one project on your dashboard, you are able to use the ‘Get started’ button to create your project, which comes with an added bonus of recommended freelancers chosen for you based on the information you selected: 

 

1. To create your first or second project click on ‘Get Started’
2. Tell us more about the type of service and freelancers you are looking for with this project. 
3. Choose the skills you are looking for.
4. Answer a few more questions before we gather Pro freelancer recommendation for your project. 

5. Your project has been created! You can keep exploring for more freelancers and/or invite members to join the project. 

 

Types of projects 

There are different types of projects that you can choose depending on your professional needs. 

 

Public project

This is a kind of project where everyone with access can join by clicking Join project. While public projects are less restrictive, not every member who joins can edit the project name or remove collaborators, but public project creators will have more of these capabilities. 

Important details: 

  • Anyone can create a public project.
  • Anyone (from the account) can join every public project (and there is no need for an invitation). 
  • Only the project owner can invite collaborators to join this project.
  • All Public projects are visible to all.
  • All new orders in the Public project will be automatically shared with all project collaborators.

You can change the share option to all members but, once shared, you cannot unshare it.

Private project

Any member is able to create a private project but you can only join this kind of project via an invite. If you would like to collaborate with a member, send them an invitation to the project to join as collaborators.

Only project owners can invite other members to join, and the private project is only visible to its collaborators. While an admin can see all members’ private project listings on their Project page (for reporting purposes only), they can't actually enter projects themselves. 

All new orders in a Private project are automatically shared with the members that are part of the project. Once you share your Private project with the account members, you are not able to unshare.

 

  Making a project private

1. Create your project,

2. On your new project's page click on the ellipses from the upper right corner 
3. Click on Edit project details

4. Click on the Private project toggle at the bottom

 

My project

This project is for everyday tasks that you handle alone as no one else can see this project- for example, if you need to prepare a professional presentation by a certain date, you can place an order with a freelancer to help enhance your presentation, that only you can see under My project.

 

Important details:

  • My project is created automatically for every member of the account, including the Admin. There can only be one 'My project' per member and can't be duplicated. 
  • You can't invite other members to this project as collaborators, and the default sharing option for orders in this project is only me as a result.
  • Although you can't invite others to the project itself, you can share your orders with your team but note that they will only see the order on the Orders page.

What does my projects page look like? 

Admin view

You will see 2 tables:

1. Your projects
This tab will show 3 types of projects:

  • Projects you’re in - projects in which you are a collaborator (created by you or you were added by others). This includes your personal project “My project”.
  • Projects you can join -You can see all the public projects within your account. You may join any public project by clicking Join.
  • Completed - projects that include past orders that you or other collaborators marked as completed.

2. Projects you can view

As an admin, you can view projects other account members are working on. These could be:

1. Their own personal projects. 

2. Private collaborative projects. 

Admins can view project names, lists of collaborators, and the total number of orders and spending, but they cannot access personal projects. Admins can only access private projects if they are invited as collaborators by the project owner.
Keep in mind that private projects which were marked as completed will be reflected at this status.

 

 

Member view

Your projects
This tab will show 3 types of projects:

  • Projects you’re in - projects in which you are a collaborator (created by you or you were added by others). This includes your personal project “My project”.
  • Projects you can join -You can see all the public projects within your account. You may join any public project by clicking Join.
  • Completed - projects that include past orders that you or other collaborators marked as completed.

 

 

Learn more about how to use projects with Using projects.

Was this article helpful?